Old Love Song.

With a quizzical look, I gazed upon the Baltimore Catechism. The clear format stood out as well as the obviously dated pictures. In garish black and red, stood a picture of a priest, facing away from the viewer, his arms lifting up a round host. He wore an elaborate chasuble. Three stripes dotted with tiny designs crossed his back. I instantly remembered seeing a chasuble just like it while hearing a Latin Mass back in Peoria. At that time, it was green, not red and the priest faced towards us during the consecration.

Yes, the Novus Ordo, in Latin. Like a dreamlike chimera, it remained ever elusive, something belonging only to special television shows and obscure parishes. By God’s grace was I able to see it. Yearning filled my heart. My eyes grew sorrowful and heavy as plaintive chant escaped my lips: “Agnus Dei, qui tollis peccata mundi, miserere nobis.”

The familiar melody! It seemed I sang it at Mass yesterday. But in reality it has been a long time. Too long. I let out a deep sigh. An old love song dearly missed, it played on and on in my head.

Leave a Reply

